Many times our initial desire to change ourselves is for an event (wedding, reunion, trip to Fiji), or to get even (after a wedding, after a reunion or after our trip to Fiji), or to prove that someone was SO WRONG ABOUT US… “I’ll show YOU!!”

There is an element that is overlooked in many personal transformations.There is a deeper and longer lasting focus we need to attend to…

A reverence for our own self. Reverence as a deep respect and having a profound appreciation for ourself.

I’ve never thought about having self-reverence…I’ve never really profoundly appreciated myself.

I’m asking myself, “why not?”

Why wait for others to validated this inner knowing?

What does it take to revere one’s self? How would it reveal itself in my day to day living?

What can I do to profoundly appreciate my being?

Reverence – from revere: to show devoted deferential honor to : regard as worthy of great honor

profound – characterized by intensity of feeling or quality b : all encompassing

appreciation – sensitive awareness; especially : recognition of aesthetic values c : an expression of admiration, approval, or gratitude 2 : increase in value

By those definitions – If we begin to think of our selves with reverence and with profound appreciation… how can a transformation NOT happen?

Just a thought.

