Keep my heart open.

I suffer the most when I close up/shut down. As long as my heart is open my life is full of experiences, adventure and other open hearts.

When my heart is open many closed hearts wander by, linger, and seem to long for something. But, because their hearts are closed, they don’t even know what they are looking for. But they are attracted. This attraction is often misunderstood…but it is really just an attraction to the open heart.

I like myself more when my heart is open. I appreciate life more when my heart is open. I have absolute self-confidence in myself when my heart is open. My creativity flows in multiple directions when my heart is open.

With all of this energy flowing so readily – why would I ever shut down?

I can’t even give myself a rational answer on that one.

As to the ‘how’ of having an open heart, I don’t practice yoga, I don’t necessarily do anything to ‘open the heart chakra’, I don’t listen to any music or breathe a certain way, or even meditate. I just have the thought, “My heart is open and I allow myself to live with curiosity, adventure and friendliness.” I smile and notice others. I listen to others. I help others and am nice to animals. (… are we not all animals?)

An open heart does need daily work. Polishing and fine tuning…adjusting the angle. Rumi sums it up:

Everyone sees the unseen in proportion to the clarity of his heart,
and that depends upon how much he has polished it.
Whoever has polished it more, sees more
— more unseen forms become manifest to him.
Jalal-Uddin Rumi

